Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



How high we go in the dark  Cover Image Preloaded Audio Preloaded Audio

How high we go in the dark / Sequoia Nagamatsu.

Nagamatsu, Sequoia, (author.). Whelan, Julia, 1984- (narrator.). Playaway Digital Audio, (issuing body.). Playaway Products, LLC., (issuing body.).

Summary:
For fans of Cloud Atlas and Station Eleven, a spellbinding and profoundly prescient debut that follows a cast of intricately linked characters over hundreds of years as humanity struggles to rebuild itself in the aftermath of a climate plague--a daring and deeply heartfelt work of mind-bending imagination from a singular new voice. In 2030, a grieving archeologist arrives in the Arctic Circle to continue the work of his recently deceased daughter at the Batagaika Crater, where researchers are studying long-buried secrets now revealed in melting permafrost, including the perfectly preserved remains of a girl who appears to have died of an ancient virus. Once unleashed, the Arctic plague will reshape life on Earth for generations to come, quickly traversing the globe, forcing humanity to devise a myriad of moving and inventive ways to embrace possibility in the face of tragedy. In a theme park designed for terminally ill children, a cynical employee falls in love with a mother desperate to hold on to her infected son. A heartbroken scientist searching for a cure finds a second chance at fatherhood when one of his test subjects--a pig--develops the capacity for human speech. A widowed painter and her teenaged granddaughter embark on a cosmic quest to locate a new home planet. From funerary skyscrapers to hotels for the dead to interstellar starships, Sequoia Nagamatsu takes readers on a wildly original and compassionate journey, spanning continents, centuries, and even celestial bodies to tell a story about the resilience of the human spirit, our infinite capacity to dream, and the connective threads that tie us all together in the universe.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9798822669161 :
  • Physical Description: 1 audio media player (09:20:03) : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
  • Publisher: Solon, Ohio : Playaway Products, LLC, [2023]

Content descriptions

General Note:
Title supplied by publisher.
Release date supplied by publisher.
Issued on Playaway, a dedicated audio media player.
One set of earphones and one AAA battery required for listening.
Previously released by HarperCollins.
Participant or Performer Note:
Read by Full Cast, Julia Whelan.
Target Audience Note:
Adult.
Subject: Virus diseases > Fiction.
Epidemics > Fiction.
Regression (Civilization) > Fiction.
Interpersonal relations > Fiction.
Resilience (Personality trait) > Fiction.
Genre: Science fiction.
Novels.
Audiobooks.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Lehigh Carbon Library Cooperative.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Parkland Community Library PA F NAG (Text) 34422006216358 Playaway Available -


Additional Resources